Athlete Cory Ellertson Checks in from Minnesota

Hello CXC family!

I just wanted to check in and update everyone on my spring so far.

The biggest news to report is my wife and I bought a house in Robbinsdale! It seems like we have been moving once a year since we first went to college, so it’s nice to put down some roots and have a place to hang my hat. It’s also nice to have a room dedicated to waxing my skis! I’m no longer relegated to garages and puffy jackets.

New House!

New House!

Wax Room

Wax Room

This project unfortunately replaced an Over Distance (OD) workout, but I’m happy with the finished product. My dad, Scott, and I spent one weekend sanding and varnishing what the previous owner covered with carpet!

Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 10.05.08 AM

The biggest draw to Robbinsdale for us, besides being close to work, was access to infinite miles of trails and proximity to Wirth. Being 5 minutes from skiing will be nice! I’m also thrilled to be able to roller ski, trail run, or ride my mountain and road bikes from home. No more driving to train! I know there are many other Nordic skiers that live in the area, so if you have any hidden rollerski gold mines, let me know. My email is ellertson7@gmail.com 😉

On the training side of life, things are going great! After a month off and a couple rounds of antibiotics, I was feeling recovered and ready to go again by the end of April. After the eye opener that was this year’s Birkie, I decided to refocus my training on 3 things. Rebuilding and strengthening my base before even thinking about intervals, RECOVERY and properly fueling my workouts(and racing!)

Trail Run at Battle Creek

Trail Run at Battle Creek

I followed the advice detailed in the article, Common Training Mistakes that I saw on FasterSkier, about limiting your level one workouts to only breathing through your nose. I’m using that tip as my primary goal for periods 1, 2 and 3. This is my third year in the transition from hockey player to endurance athlete and the first couple months of long, slow and easy are the most important for rewiring my anaerobically trained body to be more efficient aerobically. I’m just finishing period 2 and I’ve never felt better. I occasionally add short 10-15 sec speeds to my workouts and even though I have avoided intervals, I have never felt faster or recovered from workouts better. So things are headed in the right direction and I am chomping at the bit to start intervals!

Thank you for following CXC and we’ll see you out there!

Cory Ellertson

Leave a Reply

