“Lemonade”: Working Toward an Even Brighter Future

By: CXC Team Member Chris Pappathopoulos 

The last year has involved more lemonade making than I would prefer, which has taught me a few things.

1. First and foremost be happy that you at least have lemons

2. Lemonade is still pretty tasty

3. When you do find oranges you treasure them even more

Hopefully in a few months life will be back to sunshine, lollipops and rainbows. The important thing is to adapt to the current circumstances and work toward an even brighter future.

For the first time I can remember this week I missed a race/time trial due to an injury.  It was pretty tough watching from the sidelines, but it gave me the opportunity to cheer and take a few pictures, both things I like to do  – lemonade. I really like trail runs, especially ones in the rain, so missing the rainy trail run yesterday at REG was tough as well. However, as much as I like trail running, I like roller skiing more, so I went out and worked on single stick specific strength – more lemonade.

PE5A0820

Jake Brown getting it done at the REG uphill time trial

PE5A0926

New CXC teammate Alice Flanders going up the final hill.

I’ve gone back to a “regular” 8-5 job which has made working and training more difficult. There are days when the only opportunity I have to train is during lunch hour.  I have started a new trend to replace FKT (fastest known time). I now compete in FKDDD (farthest known desk to desk distance).  I am up to squeezing in a 25K bike ride between leaving my desk, changing, biking, showering and returning to my desk – lemonade.

The garden has been going better this year than last year. Strawberries were early and tasty, and the raspberries have already started. Last year potato bugs decimated my crop when I was gone for a week in June. I have avoided that this year so far.

Potato flowers, either these or dandelions are probably the best flower in the world

Potato flowers, either these or dandelions are probably the best flower in the world

As for the oranges, I spent my birthday weekend in Door County with family. I had a couple of great roller skis, but a bigger highlight was the trip to Washington Island. We took the same vehicle that I use to ride in as a kid. I got to sit in the back seat again. Think of it like the kids table at Thanksgiving. This gave me a chance to discuss some of life’s burning questions such as what is the unicorn version of a donkey called.  I think it should be unidonk, but my niece insisted it should be a donkorn. We compromised on the boys are unidonks and the girls are donkorns.  Sleep well knowing this question has been answered.

Waiting for the ferry to Washington Island with my back seat companions. Sit and wait in line or have fun on the beach - lemonade. No screen time here.

Waiting for the ferry to Washington Island with my back seat companions. Sit and wait in line or have fun on the beach – lemonade. No screen time here.

Dodge Tradesman 200 that has been carting around Pappathopoulos kids since 1978. The rear seat is where life’s pressing questions are discussed.

Dodge Tradesman 200 that has been carting around Pappathopoulos kids since 1978. The rear seat is where life’s pressing questions are discussed.

Lily Bay - One of the sights on my OD roller ski in Door County. It was perfect roller skiing weather. Cool and sunny.

Lily Bay – One of the sights on my OD roller ski in Door County. It was perfect roller skiing weather. Cool and sunny.

Leave a Reply

