A Month of Big Training Hours and Camps

By: CXC Team Member, Kyle Bratrud

I finished July training extremely strong. However, the training load took its toll on my body the first week of August. It brought along a nice virus that left me with a fever and headache for 9 straight days. I suppose the sickness was my body’s way of telling me I needed to rest after training 100+ hours in July.  

Following a less then comfortable recovery week, I hopped on a plane and headed out East to Vermont to meet up with Stratton Mountain for a nice training block. I am currently on the second week of that training block, with an easy week on the horizon, before we head into a mini camp with Sun Valley and then over to Lake Placid, New York for the U.S. Ski Team (USST) camp.

Vermont rainbows, loving the scenery and terrain here at SMS.

Vermont rainbows, loving the scenery and terrain here at SMS.

Training with the Stratton Mountain guys has been extremely productive. Having my old training partner and one of my closest friends, Ben Saxton, around; has been super helpful in my attempt to build sprinting speed. It’s also really nice to have a skier like Paddy Caldwell who can push me in any workout where endurance is required. I consider Paddy to be one of the best skate skiers in the country, it’s awesome to have someone to push me in my favorite discipline. It’s really no surprise to me that SMS is constantly spitting out World Cup skiers. Their program is simple and straightforward and has a bunch of motivated athletes that love to ski fast.

1.I have had a lot of fun with my new Garmin 920XT watch. I can view my workout via Bluetooth on my smartphone seconds after finishing it!

I have had a lot of fun with my new Garmin 920XT watch. I can view my workout via Bluetooth on my smartphone seconds after finishing it!

From Vermont I will head to Lake Placid, New York for a week long camp alongside the U.S Ski Team (USST) and then I will fly back to Marquette, MI. I’m excited to continue to improve my classic skiing alongside my roommate from Northern Michigan University and 2015 NCAA National Champion in the 20K classic, Fredrik Schwencke. Freddy and I always seem to have very productive workouts and I look forward to putting in a really solid fall training with him and building up to West Yellowstone. As this blog is posted, I will be enjoying my recovery week!

Leave a Reply

