Back At It

By: CXC Team Member, Chris Pappathopoulos

It has been a pretty eventful month. The month was kicked off with knee surgery. I made the executive decision to shorten the 4-6 week recovery down to 4-6 hours for most activities. Within a few days of surgery I roller skied the 60K route home from work. I’ve been slower to jump back into running. It was a bit tough seeing all the pictures and results from the Birkie Trail Run since I wished I was there. On the bright side that was the first day I went on a training run and it went fairly well.

Untitled

Back to running the trails of McCarthy Park

A couple of Saturdays ago I guest coached a session with one of the middle school cross country running teams. I am not above bribery to try and get some of them out for the Madnorski East Ski Team.

Some early morning baking was in order to prepare the zucchini bread bribe

Some early morning baking was in order to prepare the zucchini bread bribe

Snow Machine 1.0 has progressed from an object used to test physical fitness to a self propelled vehicle. It is hard to believe, but I didn’t even have to pay extra for the character marks, the iron oxide weight reduction, or the trick aerodynamics such as the missing mirrors. It is probably best to run away from the negotiating table if you see me walk up.

Just need to replace the 3 broken springs and Snow Machine 1.0 might be road worthy.

Just need to replace the 3 broken springs and Snow Machine 1.0 might be road worthy.

Other than that I have been enjoying one of my top four favorite seasons of the year.

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. - John Muir

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. – John Muir

Leave a Reply

