Building Endurance for the Season Ahead

By: CXC Team Member, Nicolette Reker

nr blog

To begin, I am very excited to be a part of the new branch of a CXC Masters program in Winona, MN! I will be coaching a session with the group once a month working on classic and skate technique as well as building athlete fitness for the upcoming winter season. Being an active member in the ski community goes beyond my participation in racing alone. Since I have graduated high school in 2013 I have coached a variety of groups of athletes in the Minnesota Nordic community and I am eager to continue coaching with CXC in Winona.

As always, Rossignol, Toko and Marwe keep me going every day!

As always, Rossignol, Toko and Marwe keep me going every day!

Fall training has been going well. Another Chequamegon 40 is in the books and now I am in full ski-training mode. With the nice weather we have been experiencing in Winona, I look for any chance to get outside and enjoy it (but I am anxious for the cool down and very ready for snow.) I have been focusing on building strength and getting some intensity in on the skis. As for improvements, I need to get out for some longer roller skis to gain more endurance.

November 2nd and still running in a tank top!

November 2nd and still running in a tank top!

The last couple months I have been filling out applications for my clinical rotation in a hospital starting next fall (Clinical Laboratory Science BS). I have been accepted to a program in Iowa and I have an interview at the Mayo Clinic mid-November. My mother has also completed her final radiation treatment and has returned to work. We couldn’t be more excited for that to be over! School is still crazy busy, and I am almost done with my training at the hospital and will be set free to works as a Phlebotomist on my own. The experience in the hospital has been great so far and I know I am entering into a fun and exciting career.

Leave a Reply

