Back to the Basics

By: CXC Team Athlete, Kyle Bratrud

Pretty much every season since I began skiing I have improved. This was partially due to my late start, attendance of an elite ski school like Northern Michigan University, and a growing motivation to do big things in the Sport. Coming off my senior year at NMU, I certainly had high expectations for myself as a professional skier and for the most part I fell short. It was not for lack of trying, however, as I worked harder than I ever had before last summer. It had more to do with trying a little too hard. I think I got a little carried away with hours and travel to camps. That coupled with a year uncharacteristically filled with illness led to one of my worst seasons in recent years and now has me reconsidering everything.

IMG_2597.jpg

When you have success, it is hard to question what you are doing, but failure has a funny way of bringing about doubt and with that comes a healthy form of skepticism in what kind of training you have been doing. I took a step back after last year and re-evaluated everything, diet and nutrition, hours, body care, travel, and my social life.

IMG_2598.jpg

Moving forward, I am very confident in the plan I have come up with and the changes I have made. While it may seem a bit boring to spend the entire summer and fall in Marquette going through an uninterrupted training grind, I find the thought of that extremely cathartic and I am greatly looking forward to it. I am extremely grateful for the continued support from CXC despite last season and I look forward to returning the favor this season. I am extremely excited for Oscar Friedman to join me as my first official teammate on the Super Tour! I can’t wait for what lies ahead, but in the meantime I am appreciating the little things that training hard every single day with Marquette Training Group (MTG) has to offer.

IMG_2592.jpg

Leave a Reply

