June, a Month Of Training, Traveling & Adventures

By: CXC Team athlete, Felicia Gesior

Unknown-2.jpeg

This past June has been a month full of training, traveling and adventures.

I headed off to Iceland as a stopover on my way to Europe. While there, I was fortunate to get to see some amazing national parks. The highlight was a 30k hike in Skaftafell National Park that included amazing views of the the Morsarjökull  glacier. We even spotted an arctic fox!  I rounded out the trip by entering a local 8.5k running race in Laugavatn, Iceland. It was fun to put in a hard effort after the recovery week and to experience a local event.

Unknown.jpeg

Next, it was time to head to Germany where I met my former NMU teammate, Vera Gruber.  It felt great to be back on roller skis. I enjoyed the rolling country terrain and the long uphill runs with rewarding views. Despite the rainy conditions we were able to fit in some great workouts.

The next leg of my journey was a few hours away in Innsbruck, Austria. Here, I met up with two other former teammates Sophie Schimpl and Malin Eriksson. We were fortunate enough to ski at the roller ski track in Seefeld just thirty minutes outside of the city!

Unknown-3.jpeg

I also had the chance to visit Sophie’s home near Linz, Austria. This marked the start of an intensity week and I had the opportunity to get in some great interval sessions along with a fun uphill classic ski near her hometown.

Unknown-1.jpeg

Back in Innsbruck it was easy to find sloping mountain roads for l-3 and l-4 bounding workouts. Ending out this week, I  spent my off day traveling to Tierp, Sweden where I will train for the next 10 days.

Leave a Reply

