An Update from Felicia Gesior – CXC Team Athlete

I entered into the new training season in my favorite place to train: Marquette, MI. There isn’t any other place that makes me feel as motivated and ready to start working hard. This summer was a little different than my past Marquette experiences. In March, I started my student teaching placement at Father Marquette Elementary in a fourth grade classroom. This was the final step before graduating with a  bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education at NMU and went through the middle of June.

Felicia Gesior Treadmill Center of Excellence Madison Wisconsin

Technique Work on the rollerski treadmill at the Center of Excellence in Madison

When I started training in May, I had to balance skiing with the full time teaching placement for the month and a half I had left before the end of the school year. I looked at this new challenge as a chance to get in tune with my body and find out my limits when balancing work and skiing. I learned the hard way that pushing to do too much will just leave you more susceptible to getting sick. After recovering from a series of colds, I had to concede that I would not be able to put in as many hours as is typical for May. Instead, I focused on strengthening my weakness and building a solid strength base. As a competitive athlete, this is a lesson that takes a long time to learn. I really enjoyed the challenges that came with student teaching and I look forward to having my own classroom in the future. For now, I plan to continue to train and ski with CXC while substitute teaching in the fall when training and travel allow.

felicia gesior teaching fourth grade cross country skiing

Teaching my fourth grade class about cross country skiing and living an active, healthy lifestyle over the summer.

I happily spent the rest of June and a portion of July training in Marquette while doing some tutoring on the side. I felt well rested and was able to get in a solid block of training. I enjoyed joining the REG camp held in Marquette and skiing alongside the juniors who attended the camp. I also had a blast getting back to Waukesha to coach two Peak Nordic Ski Camps.

Felicia Gesior Marquette Michigan rollerski rollerskiing

Rollerskiing on the amazing roads up in Marquette, MI

Now onto a new trip!  I just arrived in Durango, CO where I will spend the final part of the summer before heading back to Marquette in September. I am excited for the change of pace training out west.

Peak Nordic Felicia Gesior Coaching High School Athletes

Coaching the Peak Nordic Camp with a motivated group of high school athletes

I am happy to announce that I will be putting on the Bergkonig Mountain King Run this year. The race will be held on November 11th at Lapham Peak State Park in Delafield, WI with a 5K/10K/1K kids run options. Bergkonig means Mountain King in German. This race was founded by Maria and Bryan Cook former CXC Elite team athletes.  Proceeds from the race will help fund my 2017/2018 race season with any additional funds going directly to the Bergkonig Scholarship Fund which helps local elite athletes pursue their cross country ski dreams. For more information check out the race website! http://bit.ly/mountainkingrun

To follow more of my adventures check out my personal blog and website! http://felgesior.wixsite.com/gesior

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

