Update from Felicia Gesior – CXC Team Athlete

Enjoying the view after ski walking intervals at Killington Ski Resort in Vermont.

Time for an update! I am nearing the end of another major training block. For the most part, I follow a rhythm of medium week, hard week and then a recovery week. I make sure to plan my travels around training so that I can be in a good position to train during  larger weeks and travel on easy weeks. I wrapped up my five weeks of altitude training in Colorado with a volume week which included lots of longer runs and rollerskis.

Felicia Gesior touring Governors Basin outside Ouray, CO

Felicia Gesior touring Governors Basin outside Ouray, CO

I really enjoyed running on the alpine roads outside of Ouray, CO. The trails went deep into the mountains and valleys which aren’t otherwise accessible. It was great to spend time training so high in a place with so much hill climbing.

Once I was acclimatized, I felt a huge difference in the speed and distance I could go on each workout.

Felicia Gesior touring Governors Basin outside Ouray, CO

Felicia Gesior touring Governors Basin outside Ouray, CO

Next, I traveled to Vermont where I spent my easy week in the countryside for my brothers wedding celebrations. Now, I am looking forward to getting back to Marquette where I will have the NMU ski girls to train with! For the majority of my summer, I did my training alone which gave me a lot of time to focus on my technique. However, I’m excited to have other girls to push me as we move into more level four intensity workouts this fall.

Felicia Gesior during her ski walking intervals at Killington Hill in Vermont.

Felicia Gesior during her ski walking intervals at Killington Hill in Vermont.

Save

Leave a Reply

