CXC Marathon Cup Closes Season at Great Bear Chase

CALUMET, Mich. (March 9, 2019) – Brian Gregg (Minneapolis) capped a strong racing season winning the CXC Marathon Cup finale at the UP Health Systems Great Bear Chase in Calumet, taking the overall crown. Gregg took his third victory of the season in winning the 50k skiathlon. A record field of over 800 skiers took part in the various races.

Photo Credit: Kathy Abbott

Gregg outskied Daniel Streinz (Marquette, Mich.) by a minute and a half, covering the 50k course in two hours, 21 minutes, 36.3 seconds. Xavier Mansfield (Minneapolis) was third.

U.S. Biathlon Team member Deedra Irwin (Pulaski, Wis.) won the women’s title with more than a four minute margin over Felicia Gesior (Bozeman, Mont.) in the 50k skiathlon. Erica Wagner (Duluth, Minn.) was third.

After opening the season with a victory in the Seeley Hills Classic, Gregg then put together back-to-back wins at the Noquemanon Ski Marathon  and the City of Lakes Loppet. Gregg won the title with a 325 margin over Thomas Kendrick (Minneapolis). Andrew Brown (St. Paul, Minn.) was third.

Gesior’s second place finish was enough to clinch the women’s season title over Laura Cattaneo (Rochester, Minn.). Erica Wagner (Duluth, Minn.) was third.

Photo Credit: Gowtham Sh

The CXC Marathon Cup is a series of seven long distance cross country races across U.S. Ski & Snowboard’s Central Division.



Saturday, March 9, 2019

Men’s 50k Skiathlon

  1. Brian Gregg, Minneapolis, 2:21:36.3
  2. Daniel Streinz, Marquette, Mich., 2:23:12.9
  3. Xavier Mansfield, Minneapolis, 2:28:14.2

Women’s 50k Skiathlon

  1. Deedra Irwin, Pulaski, Wis., 2:47:22.5
  2. Felicia Gesior, Bozeman, Mont., 2:51:39.7
  3. Erica Wagner, Duluth, Minn., 3:02:26.5

Men’s 50k Freestyle

  1. Nikolai Anikin, Duluth, Minn., 2:24:40.0
  2. Craig Cardinal, Northfield, Minn., 2:24:43.1
  3. Zachary Nelson, St. Paul, Minn., 2:24:46.9

Women’s 50k Freestyle

  1. Ali Towle, Watertown, Minn., 2:52:45.7
  2. Melissa Berman, Eden Prairie, Minn., 2:54:42.0
  3. Jenna Ruzich, Baxter, Minn., 2:55:13.4



Final Points & Ranking

Men’s Final Ranking

  1. Brian Gregg, Minneapolis, 1,370
  2. Thomas Kendrick, Minneapolis, 945
  3. Andrew Brown, St. Paul, Minn., 845
  4. Matt Liebsch, Orono, Minn., 777
  5. Tyler Kobilarcsik, Chanhassen, Minn., 665

Women’s Final Ranking

  1. Felicia Gesior, Bozeman, Mont., 576
  2. Laura Cattaneo, Rochester, Minn., 532
  3. Erica Wagner, Duluth, Minn., 520
  4. Bonnie Weiskopf, Grant, Minn., 482
  5. Vivian Hett, Burnsville, Minn., 480

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s