Update from Nichole Bathe – CXC Team Athlete

Hola, Hei, and Bonjour!

Since my last blog I have visited three different countries and have seen more mountains than I have in my entire life! The end of September I spent finishing up a training camp in Majorca Spain with the British National Team.

It was an amazing camp filled with lots of intensity and tons of sweaty hours spent on roller skis. I also was slightly forced to get over my fear of downhills at high speed, many of the roads we skied on were narrow and went straight up so you had to come straight down!

Being from the Midwest I haven’t had a lot of practice with that….but I am happy to report I came out of camp with all pieces of skin intact.

Nichole Bathe Great Britain Olympian in Majorca Spain The views in Majorca did not disappoint skiing with my British teammate Annika Taylor
The views in Majorca did not disappoint skiing with my British teammate Annika Taylor

After Majorca I spent a solid 3 weeks back at my new home in Lillehammer. It was nice to have some time to learn the rollerskiing routes as well as to just settle into my apartment some more.

I also got to jump in on some intervals with the local club which was a great learning experience!

Nichole Bathe Great Britain Olympian (Myself and Annika out on a long run in Lillehammer
Myself and Annika out on a long run in Lillehammer

I am now in Tignes France for the next three weeks at an altitude and glacier skiing camp.

We have been here for a few days and have seen all sorts of weather from snow to wind as well as some amazingly gorgeous sunny days.

Nichole Bathe Great Britain Olympian Skiing on the glacier, it almost looks fake 😉
Skiing on the glacier, it almost looks fake 😉

We got to ski on snow for the first time yesterday!!

It was some of the most beautiful skiing I have ever done which helped make the 3 hours of waiting, train riding, and chair lifting a tad less inconvenient. I am looking forward to spending some quality time here before the season starts up in the middle of November!

Happy Fall Training,

Nichole

3 comments

    1. Nichole says she doesn’t have a job yet, because she doesn’t speak Norwegian but perhaps after the ski season, she’ll be fluent enough to get a job.

      1. That’s the spirit. I was an Rotary exchange student in Sweden in 1977-78. I think I spoke Swedish well enough by the end to hold down a simple job. We had free Swedish lessons 2 or 3 times a week.

Leave a comment