CXC Names Championship Teams

MADISON, Wis. (Feb. 20, 2019) – Central Cross Country Skiing, the regional governing organization for cross country skiing in the 10 state Central Region of the United States, has named a wide range of teams for upcoming championship events as well as international competition travel programs. The teams were selected through a series of qualifying events over the past three months including the CXC Cup and CXC Junior Cup, which ended last weekend at Theodore Wirth Park in Minneapolis.

Teams were selected within two separate divisions of Central Region. The Great Lakes Division consists of the states of Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and eastern Pennsylvania. The Midwest Division includes Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, South and North Dakota,and Wisconsin.

Photo Credit: Bruce Adelsman /

The U.S. Ski & Snowboard Cross Country Junior National Championships are set for Anchorage’s Kincaid Park March 10-16. The event will showcase the future of cross country ski racing with the best athletes under the age of 20 competing. It’s the highest level championship event in America for junior ski racers. CXC has named a team of over 70 athletes to compete in Anchorage. The team features skiers from over two-dozen CXC club programs.

The Kincaid Park trails are legendary in the sport and the past site for national and international competitions including FIS World Cups. The trail system is also the home of Olympic champion Kikkan Randall.

2018 NENSA U16 Trip Team

The New England Nordic Ski Association (NENSA) U16 Eastern Championships will be held March 6-11 on the Bethel Village Trails in Bethel, Maine. The Championships, which began in 1992, are now a focal point for top U16 athletes from around America and Canada. CXC has named a team of 15 athletes from Great Lakes and Midwest Divisions representing 10 clubs.

CXC will also take a team of 12 athletes from eight clubs to the Canadian Ski Nationals March 13-20 in Gatineau, Que.




Great Lakes Division – Men

Joshua Albrecht, U20, Michigan Tech University

Mitchell Delong, U20, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Aleutian Hatfield, U18, Superiorland Ski Club

Julien Malherbe, U18, Superiorland Ski Club

Nick Niemi, U18, North Ironwood

Matt Pillifant, U18, Superiorland Ski Club

Noah Robitshek, U16, Vasa Ski Club

Galen Resch-Chimner, U18, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Joe Wood, U18, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Ted Roe, U18, Vasa Ski Club


Great Lakes Division – Women

Erika Asmus, U18, Superiorland Ski Club

Arielle Jean, U16, Vasa Ski Club

Kora Johnson, U16, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Mary Lyon, U20, Michigan Tech University

Anabel Needham, U18, Copper Country Ski Tigers


Midwest Division – Men

Patrick Acton, U20, Michigan Tech University (qualified through U.S. Championships)

Jackson Adler, U20, Ashwaubenon Nordic Ski Team

Tres Green, U20, Michigan Tech University

Caden Albrecht, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

Roger Anderson, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

Stas Bednarski, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

Matthew Bourne, U18, Endurance United

Noah Erickson, U16, NordicWerks SkiKlubb

Eli Gore, U18, Madison Nordic Ski Club/CXC Junior Development Program

Jasper Johnson, U16, Ely High School/CXC Junior Development Program

Adrik Kraftson, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

Joe Lynch, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Cooper Lennox, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Luke McKinnon, U20, Loppet Nordic Racing

Ryan Mead, U20, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Peter Moore, U18, Endurance United

Alex Nemeth, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Will Nemeth, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Zach Nemeth, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Isak Nightengale, U16,Loppet Nordic Racing

Mark Ousdigian, U20, Michigan Tech University

Charlie Reinhart, U20, Loppet Nordic Racing

Drew Sampson, U16, NordicWers Skiklubb

Gus Schatzlein, U20, College of St. Scholastica

Anders Sonnesyn, U20, University of New Hampshire (qualified through U.S. Championships)

Victor Sparks, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

James Schneider, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Henry Snider, U18, Endurance United

Owen Williams, U16, Iola Winter Sports Club/CXC Junior Development Program


Midwest Division – Women

Emma Albrecht, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Celeste Alden, U18, Minneapolis Ski Club

Luci Anderson, U20, Loppet Nordic Racing (qualified through U.S. Championships)

Mae Barnes, U20, Loppet Nordic Racing

Hannah Bettendorf, U20, College of St. Scholastica

Cece Boyle, U20, College of St. Scholatica

Charlie Brown, U18, Endurance United

Mia Case, U16, Lakeland Nordic Ski Team/CXC Junior Development Program

Regan Duffy, U20, The Ski Farm

Kaelin Jackson, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Gretchen Haggenmiller, U18, Duluth XC/CXC Junior Development Program

Sudie Hall, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

Amelea Hauer, U18, The Ski Farm

Alice House, U18, Blackhawk/CXC Junior Development Program

Lauren Lackman, U18, Wausau Nordic United

Lauren McCollor, U16, Wayzata Nordic Ski Club

Mara McCollor, U20, Minneapolis Ski Club (qualified through Junior Worlds Team)

Molly Moening, U16, Minneapolis Ski Club

Lauren Munger, U16, Loppet Nordic Racing

Liv Myers, U16, Minneapolis Ski Club

Sarah Olson, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Jordan Parent, U16, NordicWerks SkiKlubb

Izzy Quam, U16, Endurance United

Leah Rudd, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Olivia Schwintek, U20, The Ski Farm

Isabel Seay, U18, Peak Nordic

Anni Skillicorn, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Libby Tuttle, U18, Loppet Nordic Racing

Linnea Urban, U16, Minneapolis Ski Club



Great Lakes Division – Men

Mike Fraley, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Cyrus Hamlin, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Rubin Hatfield, Superiorland Ski Club

Chase Stah, Superiorland Ski Club


Great Lakes Division – Women

Autumn Eles, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Ingrid Seagren, Copper Country Ski Tigers

Maria Velat, Copper Country Ski Tigers


Midwest Division – Men

Jakob Craig, Lakeland Nordic Ski Team

Aidan Earll, Wausau Nordic United

Magnus O’Connor, Loppet Nordic Racing

Noah Straka, Peak Nordic Ski Club


Midwest Division – Women

Lily Brown, Duluth XC/CXC Junior Development Program

Nina Chosy, Madison Nordic Ski Club/CXC Junior Development Program

Spirit Hess, Bay Nordic

Elsa Viren, Mt. Itasca Nordic




Ethan Erickson, NordicWerks SkiKlubb

Daniel Huhtala, Ashwaubenon Nordic Ski Team

Benjamin Boelter, Minneapolis Ski Club

Jacob Rochell-Share, Loppet Nordic Racing

CJ Young, Minneapolis Ski Club

Nick Parent, Nordicwerks SkiKlubb



Caroline Peterson, Northfield High School

Carolyn House, Wayzata Nordic Ski Club

Johanna Swinghammer, Mora Ski Club/CXC Junior Development Program

Ingrid Halverson, Wayzata

Gabrielle Kraemer, Loppet Nordic Racing

Sydney Peterson, Minneapolis Ski Club

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s